Wrapping up the 2022 FMB World Tour Season 

December 27, 2022

Riders put on quite the show these final few months of the 2022 FMB World Tour season. Let’s recap: 

Want the full scoop on how an already exciting season went out with a bang? Keep on reading. 

The Crankworx FMBA Slopestyle World Championship Came to a Close 

With a new stop on the Crankworx FMBA Slopestyle World Championship (SWC) schedule this year, some of the world’s best Slopestyle athletes made their way to Cairns, Australia for Crankworx Cairns Slopestyle. From the vibrant red dirt to the innovative features on a newly imagined course (and being next to two UNESCO World Heritage Sites with the Great Barrier Reef and Wet Tropics Rainforest), fans were already in for a treat. However, it was the familiar name atop the podium, after a run that started with a cashroll clearing the first feature (!!!), that got the crowd of thousands thundering. Nicholi Rogatkin tasted Crankworx Slopestyle gold for the first time since 2018 when he told himself: “I’ve got nothing to lose, if I want to win this event, I’ve got to get this done.” And that he did. Watch the full event here

With a podium featuring Nicholi Rogatkin, Erik Fedko, and Max Fredriksson in Cairns, the top spot on the Crankworx FMBA SWC ranking saw a changing of the guard for the first time in a long time. After a crash on the final feature in Australia, which knocked him into 11th place, Emil Johansson was hungry for redemption in Rotorua, New Zealand during Maxxis Slopestyle in Memory of McGazza. It was one and done for the Swedish rider who simultaneously secured himself three awards with his first run back after undergoing strict concussion protocol. A score of 92.75 won Johansson his ninth Crankworx Slopestyle gold medal, second Triple Crown of Slopestyle, and third Crankworx FMBA SWC title. Has GOAT status been certified yet? Watch the final event of the SWC here

The Australian Slopestyle Tour Named its Champion 

After three events spanning the course of five months, the last National Series of 2022 named its champion when the final round of the Australian Slopestyle Tour (AST) was held at GreenValleys Bike Park. Thomas Wrigley consistently placed on the podium of the AST, bringing home a bronze, silver, and gold medal, worth a total of 405 points across this National Series. More than 100 points ahead of his fellow competitors in the overall standings, the Aussie native finished the Tour with the “privilege of taking the overall win.” Sharing a handful of highlight moments from the event on his Instagram, Wrigley was blown away by the talent of the young riders and couldn’t get enough of riding alongside his mates at each stop. 

2022 Australian Slopestyle Tour Results

The 2022 Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award Winners Were Announced 

Felix Tornqvist won the fifth edition of Male Red Bull Rookie of the Year and Alma Wiggberg and Michaela Hájková tied as the first ever Female Red Bull Rookies of the Year. While the Red Bull Rookie of the Year (ROTY) Award is given to the top ranked rider on the Male and Female Rookie Rankings, the title is also representative of the future of the sport. With their fearlessness, Tornqvist, Wiggberg, and Hájková brought new life to mountain biking this year and plan to do so for many years to come. All in agreement that the 2023 FMB World Tour season is going to be an exciting one, Wiggberg may have summed it up best: “I think we can expect a lot of new faces on the upcoming World Tour.” 

More from the 2022 Red Bull ROTY Award winners

The Fans Voted on the Five Best Trick Award Winners 

New to the 2022 FMB World Tour season, Best Trick Award was open to both Male and Female athletes as a virtual competition where participants submitted their best trick from a sanctioned FMB Bronze, Silver, or Gold level event. Five categories meant five winners, each receiving a 2023 FMB World Tour License, spending money, and a feature on both the @fmbworldtour and @crankworx social media channels. 

After a week of voting on the submissions received from around the globe, the fans were heard loud and clear as Sarah Nicki, Finley Davies, Patricia Druwen, Jonas Sonnenberg, and Pierre Colsenet scored highest on their respective leaderboards. Take a look at the tricks that secured these riders the newly announced title of Best Trick Award winner. 

  • Bronze Level Female: Sarah Nicki (7.75) 
  • Bronze Level Male: Finley Davies (9.78) 
  • Silver Level Female: Patricia Druwen (6.98) 
  • Silver Level Male: Jonas Sonnenberg (8.69) 
  • Gold Level Male: Pierre Colsenet (9.58) 

Thank you to everyone who submitted a video to this year’s Best Trick Award contest. We can’t wait to see what tricks you bring to the contest next season. 

Up Next: The 2023 FMB World Tour Season 

While the 2022 FMB World Tour season has come to a close, the 2023 season is right around the corner and based on what we’ve seen over the past few months, there’s no time for slowing down.  

Riders make sure to get your 2023 FMB World Tour License when they become available in the New Year. Then watch this space for event updates as they are confirmed and a full 2023 calendar coming soon.