Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award

FMBA Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award 2024 
Celebrating and fostering emerging talent in the freeride mountain bike scene for years, this award is a testament to the thriving skills of athletes on the verge of entering the highest level within the FMB World Tour. 

Paving a way for younger athletes to enter the zenith of the sport, this award represents a passport to the bigger stage of freeride mountain biking.

The 2024 FMBA Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award will solely be based on FMB-sanctioned Bronze, Silver, and Gold Events within this calendar year and will be awarded to the #1 ranked Male & Female Rooke Athlete based on the year end Red Bull Rookie Standings. 

The standings are comprised of an athlete’s total score from their best three results in Gold, Silver and/or Bronze Events.

Further criteria are explained in the Rules & Regulations. 

Award & Prizing 

  • Wildcard entry to the first Crankworx FMBA Slopestyle World Championship event in 2025 including flights, accommodation & spending money 
  • Red Bull Rookie of the Year Trophy 
  • 2025 FMB World Tour License 

All FMB World Tour or Amateur License holders between 16 and 25 years old can enter the contest. More details on criteria in the Rules & Regulations. 

Contest Timeline 
FMBA Red Bull Rookie Rankings: January 1 – October 12, 2024 

Recipients Notified: The week following the last FMB-sanctioned Gold, Silver or Bronze event of the 2024 World Tour. **currently set to be October 14, 2024** 

Past Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award Winners 

2023: Jake Atkinson (GBR), Patricia Druwen (GER)

2022: Felix Tornqvist (SWE), Alma Wiggberg (SWE), Michaela Hájková (CZE) 

2021: Alejandro Bonafe (ESP) 

2020: Garret Mechem (USA) 

2019: Timothé Bringer (FRA) 

2018: Lucas Huppert (SUI)