2015 FMB Factory Teams

May 20, 2015

After the success of the first FMB Factory Team ranking last year, the riders will once again battle for the FMB World Title while also collecting points for their team to become the 2015 Factory Team Champion. Trek C3 Project won the first title in 2014, but with some big events behind us including the first Diamond stop Crankworx Rotorua, Specialized have taken the early lead, followed by the Canyon Factory Freeride Team in second and Trek C3 Project in third place. In other breaking news, the Bearclaw Invitational is now confirmed as a FMB Diamond Series event and will be held on August 22nd at the Coast Gravity Park, BC (CAN).

This season, seven teams have already registered but teams can still apply by visiting the registration page.

Currently listed for the 2015 FMB Factory Team championship are: Specialized, Trek C3 Project, Canyon Factory Freeride Team, Polygon UR, Rose Gravity, Morpheus Factory Team and Morpheus Development Team.

Registered athletes can collect points for the Factory Team Ranking at all FMB events but of course riders are looking to score big at the six Diamond stops. At the end of the season, the best six results from the team riders will count. 

Last year’s Factory Team winner was Trek C3 Project with three-time FMB World Champion Brandon Semenuk (CAN), Brett Rheeder (CAN) and Tom Van Steenbergen (CAN) and Cam McCaul (USA). After an exciting season and a close battle between Brandon and Brett, 24-year-old Brandon Semenuk emerged victorious and won his third FMB World Champion title, but he was not alone in his celebrations. Collectively, the Trek C3 Project took the first ever FMB Factory Team Championship title. At Red Bull Rampage, new team member and young gun Tom Van Steenbergen proved that he is an eligible part of the team.

Although Brandon is not competing in this year’s FMB Diamond Series, he will be stacking the points for Trek’s second Factory Team title, along with his teammates.

In an interview, Trek C3 Project Manager Andrew Shandro said that he is “proud that Trek sets the bar a little higher each year.” For him, “progression of the sport is priority number one.”

Despite the big names – the competition for the Factory Team title is fierce.

A major competitor this year will be Specialized’s factory team consisting of Martin Söderström, Nicholi Rogatkin, Darren Berrecloth and Simon Pagès. With Martin back on top form and Nicholi placing second at the first FMB Diamond event, Crankworx Rotorua (NZ) he already collected valuable points. Canyon’s team of four includes two of the world’s best tricksters, Thomas Genon and Tomas Lemoine. Make sure you keep an eye on them this season as well. Morpheus has registered two teams this year, led by Canadian shredder Anthony Messere who will certainly be cranking up the pressure. Polygon UR has the awesome crowd pleaser, Sam Reynolds in their line up and ROSE bikes has also registered a solid team which is currently sitting in 5th place.

It is now confirmed: the athletes will have an additional chance to score big, during the sixth FMB Diamond Series event, the Bearclaw Invitational. Darren Berrecloth has hosted his invitational at Mount Washington since forever, but for 2015 The Claw made the decision to move to a new location. The place to be on August 22nd, the weekend following Red Bull Joyride at Crankworx Whistler is the Costal Gravity Park in Canada’s glorious British Columbia. Famous for its great course and relaxed atmosphere, riders and fans alike are stoked to have the event confirmed for 2015. Every year, Darren has been pushing the event level and this season is no different. The move to Coast Gravity Park is just the start – naturally, there will be a new course, with plenty of wood and dirt, cut and shaped by The Claw himself.

 Useful links:

You can follow the FMB Factory Team ranking on: http://www.fmbworldtour.com/en/Rankings/16/FMB-Factory-Team-Ranking.html

You can also follow the teams’ season on Facebook:

Canyon Factory Freeride Team: www.facebook.com/CanyonFactoryFreerideTeam

Morpheus: www.facebook.com/morpheus.cycles

Polygon UR: www.facebook.com/polygon.bikes

Rose Gravity: www.facebook.com/rosebikes

Specialized: www.facebook.com/specializedbicycles

Trek C3 Project: www.facebook.com/TrekC3Project